4 subscriptions and 9 subscribers
further contact details are only visible to torial members.

Login or Register

Australia


Julica is originally from northern Germany, and based in New South Wales since 2001 as freelance journalist & correspondent. Her magazine features on Australia, New Zealand & South Pacific are regularly published in Stern Magazine, Geo Saison, Merian, Häuser and others; plus newspaper reports & columns in Tagesspiegel, Die Zeit and Germany’s leading women’s magazine Brigitte.

Her book ”Ein Jahr in Australien" published in Germany in 2007, is a witty story of her first year in Australia and sharply-observed insights into everyday life Down Under.

Julica writes on travel, lifestyle, people, architecture & current affairs, and is interested in subjects that go beyond the clichés of sunburnt Australia to uncover its contrasts and contradictions. She travels for research all over the fifth continent.

She learnt that green ants can cure headaches, and wondered why convict descendants are tough on new immigrants & refugees. She related how a German chemist made millions from health & herbs; why Bondi Beach has solariums; and how a nation obsessed with sport is also one of the most obese in the world.

Julica's career started in 1983 as trainee at the local Münster newspaper. After three years as staff writer at Westfälische Nachrichten she moved to Hamburg, working there for 15 years as magazine writer and freelance journalist.

During a 1999 job assignment to write about Byron Bay’s surf culture and to research a Sydney city guide, Julica caught the Sydney bug! Fascinated by this land of broad horizons she migrated to Australia in 2001.

4 Abos und 9 Abonnenten
weitere Kontaktdaten nur für torial Mitglieder sichtbar.

Login oder Registrieren

Korrespondentin in Australien

PO Box 46
New South Wales, Australien
2440 Australien
Australien


Reportagen, Recherchen & Ideen

Julica Jungehülsing zog 2001 als freie Journalistin nach Sydney. Ihre Reportagen aus Australien, Neuseeland und anderen Ländern im Südpazifik erscheinen unter anderem in Stern, GEO Saison, GEO Special, Merian, Zeit, Häuser, SZ-Magazin und Brigitte. 2007 erschien bei Herder ihr Buch “Ein Jahr in Australien”.

Zu ihren Schwerpunkten gehören Lifestyle-, Architektur- und Reisereportagen. Sie schreibt über Wissenschaft, innovative Unternehmen und Umwelt. Außerdem faszinieren sie Themen, die hinter die Klischees des sonnenverwöhnten Australiens blicken und dessen Widersprüchlichkeiten behandeln.

Während ihrer Recherchen erfuhr sie, warum die Hinterteile grüner Ameisen gut gegen Kopfweh sind; sie versuchte herauszufinden, weshalb die Nachfahren britischer Sträflinge so rabiat mit anderen Einwanderern und Flüchtlingen umgehen, wie man aus einem Kräuteracker Millionen macht, wozu es in Bondi Beach Sonnenbänke gibt und wie es sein kann, dass eine Nation von Sportbesessenen zugleich eine der Übergewichtigsten der Welt ist.

Ihre journalistische Laufbahn begann die gebürtige Kielerin in Münster, wo sie sie bei den Westfälischen Nachrichten volontierte und als Redakteurin arbeitete. In Hamburg studierte sie anschließend Slavistik und arbeitet 15 Jahre lang als freie Autorin und Redakteurin.
Julica Jungehülsing ist Mitglied im weltweiten Korrespondentennetzwerk Weltreporter.net.