The torial story

Konrad Schwingenstein is a former partner at the Süddeutsche publishing house, and is fascinated
by the new ways of creating media - quickly and efficiently. In the
communications agency Bloom he found his first ally, and torial was founded.

torial is on its way to becoming a non-profit organisation. torial is for journalism and consists of
journalists. We have no business interests in or intentions with our user's data.

torial is a pioneer. We recognized that while the web has had a tremendous impact on journalism,
it also offers great opportunities. It is our intention to capitalize on these opportunities to create
concrete ways to help journalists navigate the changing market effectively and develop new ways
of finding lucrative work.

The torial team: our team members

Konrad Schwingenstein

Konrad is a grandson of August Schwingenstein, one of the three founders the SZ. Having grown up amongst publishers and with a true connection to journalists, for the past three years he has funded the creative energy that led to what torial is today. Konrad is not just an investor, but also a calming influence on torial. He accompanies the work from the outside, comes over, and asks for and provides new perspectives. While trusting in the functioning of market forces, the search for a revenue model should not prevent torial from having a sustainable relevance - which translates into a great opportunity for all stakeholders and for journalism!

Konrad Schwingenstein

Marcus Jordan

Marcus is the second man at torial. He speaks as the face of torial. He writes and indulges his powers as ‘digital fool’ in order to make sure that torial does not only work technically. He still confuses Scrum and Basecamp, but that doesn’t really bother us. He is torial’s Foreign Minister and never tires of telling everyone about new website features or fighting to win over every journalist.

Marcus Jordan

David Simeth

David has been on board since the beginning of 2014, but has been associated with Marcus for over a decade, getting various balls rolling, implementing projects and ideas of all sizes and is now also in the middle of the action at torial. He is responsible for all torialists, is Marion's counterpart at the August Schwingenstein Foundation (see below) and helps to develop future projects to advance the goals of the foundation and torial.

David Simeth

Marion Bruchhäuser

Marion’s 3 year old son has known how to pronounce RubyOnRails for quite some time now. Since mid-2014 Marion has been playing the role of interface between the development team and the August Schwingenstein Foundation. At torial she wears her Product Manager hat – juggling requirements, tickets, ideas and invoices. Marion’s been a developer and product manager in England, Germany and Spain already, which helps her to coordinate the various perspectives within a web development team.

Marion Bruchhäuser

Hans-Peter Hösl

Peter is a founder and Managing Director of the advertising agency Bloom. And he is a partner of the August Schwingenstein Foundation. With his commitment and interest in art and culture Peter supports many projects and gives them his special attention. Our strategic direction, our name and our brand come from Peter and Bloom has developed our web presence and our design.

Peter Hoesl

Stephan Evers

Our youngster on the team. Every day he travels from Augsburg to contribute his abundance of JavaScript know-how to torial. Stephan makes sure that everything the users see also works the way they want it to. That means front-end guru to us. Stephan can cook, as he often proves to us over lunchtime. Why he knows so many drinking games, he still hasn’t told us…

Stephan Evers

Mirjam Karasek

When you receive an email from torial, it’s mostly Mirjam who is behind it. Since she has already been taking care of full stops and commas at Bloom for many years, it only makes sense that she is also scrutinising all of our written work. Furthermore she also looks over all the newcomer portfolios and sends out generous words of welcome and praise – nonsensical submissions and unabashed marketing, however, gets censored. And when she is not listening to the masters of torial, she lives out her passion as part of the editorial team at curt – the Munich city magazine.

Mirjam Karasek

torial makes use of opportunities

torial is a digital collective of journalists: by combining journalistic expertise and its semantic ordering, something is created that an individual digital presence could never achieve:

  • a dynamic basis for thematic networking among journalists
  • a pool of experts from which customers can quickly and spontaneously source the skills that they need at that point in time torial provides dynamism:
    • Dynamism in the presentation of ideas and work
    • Dynamism for the efficient utilization of journalistic work
    • Dynamism for collaborative work
    • Dynamism for spontaneous business

Die torial Story

Konrad Schwingenstein, ehemaliger Gesellschafter beim Süddeutsche Verlag, ist fasziniert
von den neuen Möglichkeiten, Medien zu gestalten – schnell und unbürokratisch. Bei der
Kommunikationsagentur Bloom fand er seine ersten Verbündeten: torial wurde gegründet.

torial ist ein Projekt der August Schwingenstein Stiftung. torial ist für Journalismus und besteht aus
Journalisten. Wir haben keine geschäftlichen Interessen und Absichten mit den Daten
unserer Nutzer.

torial macht Pionierarbeit. Wir sehen, dass das Netz zwar den Markt völlig verändert, aber
auch für kaum eine andere Branche so große Chancen bietet wie für den Journalismus.
Es ist unser Anliegen, aus diesen Chancen konkrete Möglichkeiten zu entwickeln, die
Journalisten helfen, auch auf dem veränderten Markt effektiv und lukrativ zu arbeiten.

Das torial Team: Unsere Mitarbeiter

Konrad Schwingenstein

Konrad ist ein Enkel von August Schwingenstein, einem der drei Gründer der SZ. Unter Verlegern groß geworden und den Journalisten verbunden, finanziert er seit drei Jahren die kreative Energie, die zu torial geführt hat. Konrad ist nicht nur Investor, sondern auch Ruhepol bei torial. Er begleitet die Arbeit von außen, kommt vorbei, fragt und liefert neue Perspektiven. Im Vertrauen auf das Funktionieren des neuen Marktes sollen Termine und Erlösmodell die Suche nach nachhaltiger Relevanz bei torial nicht behindern – eine großartige Chance für alle Beteiligten und für den Journalismus!

Konrad Schwingenstein

Marcus Jordan

Marcus ist der Zweite bei torial. Er macht sozusagen den Vorturner für torial. Er textet und gibt nach Kräften den „digital fool“, um zu verhindern, dass torial nur für Technies funktioniert. Verwechselt immer noch Scrum und Basecamp, aber niemals, worum es uns hier geht. Er ist torials Außenminister und wird nicht müde, jedem von den neuen Funktionen zu erzählen und um jeden Journalisten für torial zu kämpfen.

Marcus Jordan

David Simeth

David ist seit Anfang 2014 dabei, aber hat mit Marcus schon seit über einer Dekade verschiedene Steine ins Rollen gebracht, Projekte und Ideen aller Größenordnungen umgesetzt und ist auch hier mittendrin im Geschehen. Er ist Ansprechpartner für alle torialisten, ist Marions Gegenpart auf Stiftungsseite (siehe unten) und hilft ansonsten, die zukünftigen Projekte zu entwickeln, die die Sfiftung und torial weiterbringen.

David Simeth

Marion Bruchhäuser

Marions 3jähriger Sohn kann schon lange RubyOnRails sagen! Seit Mitte 2014 im Team ist Marion die Schnittstelle zwischen dem Entwicklungsteam und der August Schwingenstein Stiftung. Bei torial hat sie den Productowner Hut auf - sie jongliert mit Anforderungen, Tickets, Ideen und Rechnungen. Marion hat schon in England, Deutschland und Spanien programmiert und Produkte gemanaged was ihr hilft die verschiedenen Perspektiven in einem Online-Team zu koordinieren.

Marion Bruchhäuser

Hans-Peter Hösl

Peter ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer der Werbeagentur Bloom. Und er ist Mitgesellschafter der August Schwingenstein Stiftung. Mit seinem Engagement und Interesse für Kunst und Kultur unterstützt Peter viele Projekte und schenkt ihnen sein besonderes Augenmerk. Unsere Ausrichtung, unser Name und unsere Marke kommen von Peter und Bloom macht unseren Auftritt und unser Design.

Peter Hoesl

Stephan Evers

Unser Jüngster im Team. Täglich reist er aus Augsburg an, um möglichst viel von seinem Javascript-Know-how bei torial einzubringen. Stephan kümmert sich darum, dass alles, was die Benutzer sehen, auch so funktioniert, wie die Benutzer es wollen. Frontend-Guru heißt er bei uns. Stephan kann kochen und stellt uns das mittags oft unter Beweis. Warum er so viele Hütten-Trink-Spiele kennt, hat er uns noch nicht verraten …

Stephan Evers

Mirjam Karasek

Wenn ihr E-Mails von torial bekommt, steckt meist Mirjam dahinter. Sie ist die Neue bei torial und fühlt sich als einzige Frau unter vielen Männern wie die Henne im Korb. Weil Sie sich bereits seit vielen Jahren bei Bloom um Punkte und Kommas kümmert, lag es nahe, dass sie auch bei uns alles Schriftliche unter die Lupe nimmt. Außerdem sichtet sie die Newcomer bzw. deren Portfolios und verteilt elektronisch großzügig Willkommensgrüße und Lob – bei Nonsens-Auftritten oder reiner Werbung aber auch Tadel. Und wenn sie nicht gerade den Herren der torial-Schöpfung lauscht, tobt sie sich redaktionell bei curt – Stadtmagazin München aus.

Mirjam Karasek

torial nutzt die Möglichkeiten

torial ist digitales Kollektiv für Journalisten: Durch die Zusammenfassung von journalistischer Expertise und durch ihre semantische Ordnung entsteht etwas, das der einzelne digitale Auftritt niemals leisten kann:

  • eine dynamische Grundlage für die themenbezogene Netzwerkarbeit unter Journalisten
  • ein Pool aus Experten, in dem die Kunden schnell und spontan die Kompetenz finden, die sie gerade brauchen
torial bietet Dynamik:
  • Dynamik in der Präsentation von Ideen und Arbeiten
  • Dynamik für die effiziente Verwertung journalistischer Arbeit
  • Dynamik für kooperatives Arbeiten
  • Dynamik für spontane Geschäftsbeziehungen